alcheringa books

All books, by the Alcheringa Artist, in the Alcheringa Series are in hardback, set in a landscape format, measuring 300mm wide and 220mm in height

“Alcheringa Snow” is the first book in the Alcheringa Series describing in pastel and art pen, all the major Australian fauna, covering each of the four distinct seasons in the Snowy Mountains, written and illustrated for 6 – 10 year olds.

From its initial concept in early 2014 to the finished product, in late 2017, the creatures at Alcheringa sanctuary have sprung to life on each page of the book with their own unique personality, becoming an integral part of the everyday landscape and lifestyle of the author.

“Alcheringa Snow” introduces children to all the indigenous and introduced species that live in the snow at 1300 metres altitude in winter.  Their stories are related by the beautiful heroine of the series, Francine, the kind and courageous Pyrenean Mountain Dog who takes care of all at Alcheringa.

Additionally, the story reminds children of the value of friendship, the importance of listening to each other and getting along with each other as well as the value of attaining your own unique goals by firstly, having a dream.

“Alcheringa Flowers” will be published in the first half of November 2018.  This second book in the series, again related by Francine, speaks to children of discovery as well as the magical regeneration of life and change that comes with Spring.

It’s a book filled with freshness and flowers, expectation and smatterings of drama.  Some of the Alcheringan friends go on marvellous journeys into the faraway bush and see things they have never seen before!  The importance of discovery and to cultivate enthusiasm for learning something new awaits children who read “Alcheringa Flowers”.

“Alcheringa Sunshine” will be available in 2019.  Francine and her friends will embark on more journeys to other faraway fascinating places like, Mount Kosciuszko where Banjo the Green and Golden Bell frog will meet some other important endangered species like him, such as the tiny Corroboree Frog Kozzie, and Digby the Mountain Pygmy Possum.  The group make and meet other new friends along the way through the sun-filled mountains.  Later, they will endure a raging wildfire, help each other to escape the flames and dream through some of the lazy hazy hot days of Summer.  Children will learn the benefits of working together, valuing strong friendships and the cultivation of courage.

“Alcheringa Rain” is the last book in the series, describing the season of Autumn in the Snowy Mountains. During this season, when leaves change colour and a lot of long awaited rain falls, Francine and her friends cross the mighty Snowy River downstream, travel to Bombala by the southern NSW coast, to see the strangest of all Australian creatures, the Platypus. They trudge across the great and windy High Monaro, past the giant wind farm turbines and climb down a mountain, through the rainforest into the emerald green valley below.  Children are taught that resilience and determination to achieve a task is good and, after an exciting and often frightening journey, home is ideally a safe sanctuary full of peace and contentment called Alcheringa.

Alcheringa Educational Notes: The educational notes will be available from mid October 2018 on a memory stick. It comes as a specially prepared Word File that can be purchased by teachers and educators, who may wish to use the books within the curriculum. It provides a background to the books and covers, amongst other topics, the geography, geology and history of the area. Additionally it provides for a summary of the region’s main fauna, both native and introduced, as well as the main flora. It also includes current relevant topics such as climate change & the impact of the large hydroelectric scheme on fauna and flora. Its prime aim is to provide, in one place, a source document that teachers can refer to, and give a contextual framework to the books for the purpose of learning.

Book Order Form

  • Price: $29.95 Quantity:
  • Price: $32.95 Quantity:
  • Price: $32.95 Quantity:
  • Price: $34.95 Quantity:
  • Price: $12.95 Quantity:
error: Content is protected !!